TSPRA Logo no backgroundweb


  • 2018 TSPRA Website Banner 870x87
  • webbanner
  • TSPRA Web banner AD for HCDE
  • EIE banners 2015 870X87
  • TSPRA New Branding Sample 7 15 16

2012 Key Communicator

For a complete list of Key Communicators click here.

Pharr-San Juan-Alamo Superintendent Dr. Daniel P. King
named TSPRA’s 2012 Key Communicator

2012 Key Communicator Award
Sponsored by



AUSTIN, TX, July 26, 2012 – The Texas School Public Relations Association (TSPRA) has named Daniel P. King as the association’s 2012 Key Communicator.  King, who serves as superintendent for Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD (PSJA), earned this prestigious award which recognizes his significant contributions to the public’s understanding of the public schools in Texas through effective communications. King, who is an effective spokesperson for education in the Rio Grande Valley, has taken on this role on a state and national level regarding education reform  and funding.

Dr. Daniel King small

King received his award, sponsored by SchoolMessenger, from TSPRA President Craig Eichhorn at the 2012 Texas Association of School Administrators/Texas Association of School Boards Annual Convention held September 28 through 30, 2012. Over 6,000 public school officials attended this year’s event held at the Austin Convention Center in Austin, Texas.

During his 36 years of service in education, 14 of which he served as a superintendent in both the Pharr-San Juan-Alamo and Hidalgo school districts, King has achieved unprecedented goals: dramatically reducing drop out rates, putting all students on a trajectory to college and career success and using innovative means in a low-income community to stretch limited education funding. King’s transformative work with Hispanic students, the fastest growing demographic in America, is a model for the future of education. His ideas have become the foundation for federally funded projects to reform low-performing high schools nationwide. He is committed to replacing outdated, bilingual education models with dual language or dual immersion programs, with the goal of college ready bi-literacy.

“Education reform is easy to talk about but hard to do,” said Lizzette Gonzalez Reynolds, deputy commissioner for policy and programs at the Texas Education Agency, in her nomination letter for King.  She continued, “At its core, reform is doing things a better way and innovation is key. Dr. King embraces that spirit and as a result, has made tremendous progress for the students of PSJA.”

Through his educational leadership positions in the region and state, King spreads the concept that college readiness for all is possible in large school districts. He serves as president of the South Texas Association of Schools and through a P-16 early college high school planning consortium that he co-chairs, 23 other districts learn from what PSJA is doing. The Texas Commissioner of Higher Education recently appointed King to serve on the State P-16 Council. 

He has also testified for both the Texas Legislature and the U.S. Congress regarding the disservice recent education budget cuts have made to the school children of Texas and the lack of support for education reform. King was named state Superintendent of the year in 2006 by the Texas Association of School Boards.

King earned his doctorate from The University of Texas and his undergraduate and master’s level work at the University of Texas-Pan American.

Since 1981, TSPRA has recognized a Key Communicator for outstanding contributions to public education through effective communications. The recipient may be a legislator, educator, or a professional in another field who has improved school communications, or a member of TSPRA who has contributed outstanding service to the profession of school communications. Recipients have included leaders from business, media, PTA, politics, and education. A complete list of past recipients can be found on TSPRA’s website at www.tspra.org/awards/key-communicator/list-of-key-communicators.

For the second year, TSPRA has secured SchoolMessenger as the sponsor for the 2012 Key Communicator Award. SchoolMessenger is a strong supporter of TSPRA and education in the state of Texas and you are welcome to visit their booth, number 304, at the TASA/TASB Annual Convention

Larry Goddard, Tyler ISD Education Foundation, chairs TSPRA’s 2012-2013 Professional Awards Committee which includes: Laura Cade, Clint ISD; Marcia Coker, Wylie ISD; Sean Hoffman, Seguin ISD; Julie Jerome, Comal ISD; Julie Thannum, Carroll ISD; and Julie Zwahr, Little Elm ISD. For more information, contact Linsae Snider, TSPRA Executive Director, at 512-474-9107.