

## **Texas School Public Relations Association**

1801 N. Lamar Blvd., Suite 222, Austin, Texas 78701-1050

Phone (512) 474-9107 or (800) 880-9107 • Fax (512) 477-0906 • www.tspra.org

2004-2005 Officers
President
Pascual Gonzalez,
Northside ISD

For Immediate Release

August 10, 2004

**President-Elect** Candace Ahlfinger, Waxahachie ISD

STEVENS NAMED "KEY COMMUNICATOR"

Past President Kirk Lewis, Pasadena ISD

Austin—John Stevens, Executive Director of the Texas Business and Education Coalition (TBEC), has been selected as the 2004 Key Communicator of the Year by the Texas School Public Relations Association (TSPRA). TSPRA President Pascual Gonzalez of Northside ISD will present Stevens with the award during the September 18, 2004 first general session of the TASA/TASB Convention in Dallas.

Executive Director
Judy Farmer

Stevens has served as Executive Director of TBEC since March 1992. TBEC is a collaboration that brings business executives and education leaders together in a long-term effort to improve Texas public schools. Mr. Stevens also represents the organization on several committees including: the Commissioner's Advisory Committee on Accountability, the Texas ACT Council Advisory Committee and ACT's policy research advisory committee and the Advisory Committee for the Eisenhower Science Collaboratives. In addition, Stevens served as a member of the advisory committee for Princeton University's study of the Texas ten percent admissions rule. Stevens also is a founder and Chairman of the Texas Principals Leadership Initiative.

"John Stevens has worked tirelessly to bring business executives and educational leaders together in a long-term effort to improve Texas public schools," said Dr. Thomas Randle, Lamar CISD superintendent. "He is recognized and respected as a leader for educational improvement by corporate leaders across Texas and throughout the nation. Through his work with TBEC and many state and national committees, he has brought his message 'to work together for excellence in public education' to the forefront of every agenda."

Stevens served as a member of the English-language arts writing team for the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) clarification project that developed new learning standards for Texas public schools and participated in the final reviews of mathematics, science, and social studies. He was leader of the project team that developed FEISTIER (Finance Excellence Indicator System of Texas - Information about Education Resources), a powerful tool to improve financial management of school districts. FEISTIER Project team member organizations included TASBO and TSPRA.

In October 1998, then U. S. Secretary of Education Richard Riley appointed Stevens to the National Assessment Governing Board (NAGB), which oversees the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP). Stevens now is chair of the NAGB Reporting and Dissemination Committee.

Mr. Stevens began his career as a high school English and speech teacher in Minnesota and was a grade foreman on an interstate highway construction project in the summers.

Since 1981, TSPRA has recognized a Key Communicator for outstanding contributions to public education through effective communications. The recipient may be a legislator, educator or professional in another field who has improved school communications; or a member of TSPRA who has contributed outstanding service to the profession of school communications. Recipients have included leaders from business, media, PTA, politics and education. Some past winners are: attorney and former SBOE Member Will Davis; Linus Wright, former under Secretary of Education and Dallas ISD Superintendent; Jack Christie, past chairman of the SBOE; former Texas State Rep. Paul Sadler; Annell Todd, Texas School Business Magazine publisher; and Carolyn Boyle, coordinator for the Texas Coalition for Public Schools.

Julie Crimmins, Hays CISD, chairs TSPRA's Professional Awards Committee. The other committee members include: Karen Collier, Humble ISD; Lynda Queen, Region 16 ESC, Amarillo; Julie Thannum, Carroll ISD; and Steve Valdez, Weslaco ISD.

For more information, contact Judy Farmer, TSPRA Executive Director, 512-474-9107.